Guyana is on the Northern coast of South America

Geographic Location of Guyana

The Co-operative Republic of Guyana is located on the Northern coast of South America and is bordered to the East by the Republic of Suriname, to the South by Federative Republic of Brazil, to the West by the Bolivarian Republic of Venezuela and the North by the Atlantic Ocean. Guyana is located at approximately Latitude 5oN and Longitude 59oW.

The approximate area of Guyana is 83,000 square miles or 220,000 square kilometres. Guyana’s territorial waters span 12 nautical miles while the Exclusive Economic Zone stretches 200 nautical miles from the coastline.